Adjust Your Font Size: / +

General Information...USDA Disaster Declaration... Farmers Eligible for Drought Relief by Talbot County Emergency Services (DES) on Tuesday, November 9, 2010 at 8:23am

On Friday, November 5, 2010, the U.S. Department of Agriculture designated 22 counties in Maryland as natural disaster areas due to losses caused by drought and excessive heat that occurred June 1 through Aug. 31, 2010...which includes Talbot County...

Eligible counties were designated natural disaster areas Nov. 3, 2010, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight (8) months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

USDA also has made other programs available to assist farmers and ranchers, including the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program (SURE), which was approved as part of the Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008; the Emergency Conservation Program; Federal Crop Insurance; and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at

Back to top ^

Find answers to frequently asked questions

Have you met Toby Talbot?

station 90
Headquarters - Located at the Easton Airport on Corkran Road and staffed 24 hours a day.

CERT - Community Emergency Response Team